Eye of the Storm

shadows spin like a merry-go-around
eerie music washes over like a dreamless tide
overtaking my conscious like a perpetual nightmare
caught in the whirlwind of silent deception
they make those voices in your head sound so perfectly right
they make the screams in your heart tremble hard with fright

and though fears pass through me
like thunder and lightning
I choose to be in the eye of the storm
I choose to become the centre of gravity
as I hold myself down, as I hug myself to sleep
saying, here you are, I have found you
and I am sorry–for you are the one I choose
I will not let you go again

Leave a Reply

