The Promise of Act Two

The tree now stands, supported
by rocks and pillars of wood;
did the adventure and I fail
to intersect; had I so nonchalantly
rejected destiny’s calling?–was it
a test, a tentative trial to sift through
the uncaring passerby’s, to locate
its hero? Was there an explosion
of smoke, a ringing of the ears,
a promise of three magical boons?

Was someone’s life changed forever
when it could have been me?

I lower my head, switch songs
on my iPod, and walk past–

It’s just a tree.

Isn’t it?

 

Leave a Reply

