homecoming

3393041127_8b68d8ce19

at last, you reappeared
wrapped in the winter of your youth
woven with stars and light becalmed
journeying in reverse, back onto the path
the path of unspoken good-byes

like strangers
we exchanged words for the first time,
our collective tears laden with souls
and the world, now a colossal bird
with wounded feathers and eyes tiredly glowing
parched, tamed, on your left shoulder
singing a tune to itself

and it no longer mattered
what we said to each other
I thought to myself when I held you close
because now that you are here, with me,
I am myself again

Leave a Reply

