Just a thought (a poem about Facebook)

This onerous universe of subjectivity

and digitally-expressed individualism

claws out a juicy part of my

consciousness, falsifies it, a

merciless regurgitation of meaningless

likes and status updates that holds

me close, refusing to let me go. Is

it my denial that gives it power,

this strange world populated by people

I never meet, or is it this inexplicable

pull that draws me near, that grotesque

sucking mouth of the general public, and

divides

me

from the inside, and offers half

of my soul to the omnipotent internet,

on a silver plate?

.

Either way, I am scared,

of letting go,

of not letting go.

One comment

  1. slpmartin · September 28, 2011

    Had the same feelings…but decided to drop Facebook…too many little problems associated with it. 😉

Leave a Reply

