Sacrifice

For years I have struggled from

the indispensability of your words and

this endless resistance has left me

deranged, breathless in a perpetual vertigo.

As I immerse myself in your

indisputable wisdom, I am awash with the

light from your tear-spilled eyes that are

shining with dreams that I used to dream

You stare at me, unblinking, with profound

intention, like a sad, musing raven,

like an unexpected judgement.

.

I turn away with a jolt of heartache,

And the black inertia, with its venomous teeth,

devours me from the inside.

I have no choice but to  rage

with every cell of my being

to pursue a  life that does not involve

your innocence and your love

so I can prevent you from being stained

by the dark parasites living deep

down inside the shadows of my soul.

.

So I tread on glassy roads and I

tremble from the steps that I take

and I break

away from your angellic wings

your beautiful vulnerability

and seek desperately a place

a place where I will never be found

to keep you safe.

3 comments

  1. Kim · August 12, 2011

    Thanks ❤ I'm glad you liked it! 🙂

  2. slpmartin · August 12, 2011

    Such a sad situation conveyed in the poem..bittersweet lines of a life.

  3. Madeline · August 12, 2011

    Beautiful. That’s the only word I can use to describe this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

