Reality

In my hand I hold a piece of sunlight.

It crumbles. Pulled to the ground by the gravity of its love.

Its love for earth. Like golden cookie crumbs and a child’s toothless smile.

Back in those moments when we knew nothing at all. Ignorance is bliss.

Back in those moments when the sky was just the sky and it was vast because it is was.

That was before we tried to understand everything. Before we lived by the so-called reason.

What good has reason done for us, so far? This reason. Ha. We think it is the truth.

We point at it and name it the truth. It becomes the world we live in today. It becomes our vision, a kind of blindness. It becomes God. It becomes Evil. It becomes whatever it needs to become so we can exist.

Like the Matrix. You have seen that movie? I just watched it last night.

And I think that world is not so different from ours.

Who really is our enemy?

How can you tell what’s real or what’s not, what’s love and what’s hate, what’s life and what’s death—

You’ll know it’s real. No, seriously.

Tell me if this is real. Tell me if your life is real.

Tell me this world isn’t what I think it is. Tell me.

Tell me when it’s all over.

Tell me that we live in a utopia and not chaos.

But hey, we are.

Don’t you know?

We are in a utopia. Of course we are.

No, seriously.

We are in a utopia.

And that’s the truth. That’s the reality.

Why am I so sure, you ask?

Well.

I have my reasons.

4 comments

  1. Kim · June 25, 2011

    @ GD: I know! I can’t believe I misspelled that! Haha. Thanks for pointing that out. And thanks for visiting. 🙂

    @ Carol Ann Hoel: Thanks for visiting!! I miss your comments 🙂
    @slpmartin: Thanks 🙂 the ending line is my favourite part ❤

  2. slpmartin · June 25, 2011

    Excellent ending to the post…really found this thought provoking.

  3. Carol Ann Hoel · June 25, 2011

    The last line says it all. Blessings to you…

  4. GD · June 25, 2011

    Nice poem, vivid imagery. I think you meant to title it “Reality” instead of “Realiy”, but it’s a nice poem anyway. Thanks for sharing this!

    -GD
    Visit my writing blog at http://shelleddreams.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

