Degree

A piece of paper. Golden letters. A better name.

A piece of paper. Golden letters. A better game.

Give me a reason to stay where I am.

My heart is already there because

Anyone can get a degree and

I want something more and

I want something real because this is

A real world we live in.

This is a world where

Degrees don’t guarantee you a job Β like they used to;

And most of the time all they can guarantee you is

A piece of paper. Golden letters. A better name.

An empty name.

So, give me a reason to stay where I am.

My heart is already there.

And now, my body.

6 comments

  1. janeodartey · February 19, 2011

    You are welcome, Kim. And I don’t think you are lost at all. It is impossible to always know what we are doing. The first times are usually confusing with frequent promises of foreboding results, but they are beneficial to the second times; because they transform into experiences.

    Thank you for being gracious about my calling you a different name.
    Good luck, in “finding your path.” πŸ™‚

    Best,
    Jane

  2. Kim · February 18, 2011

    Thank you, Jane. I’m sure you will be cool, too. πŸ™‚ At times I don’t really know what I’m doing, or I worry about what the future holds. But a person can’t be lost forever. I believe that we’ll all find our paths in life. πŸ˜€
    And don’t worry about the Amy thing. πŸ˜‰

    Kim

  3. janeodartey · February 17, 2011

    Soo sorry I addressed you as Amy instead of Kim.

  4. janeodartey · February 17, 2011

    Amy,
    I feel exactly the same sometimes. But I know I am richer in spirit and knowledge because I actually learned something and enjoyed doing it. I have been applying to jobs like crazy and I am yet to get a single response back, so I write, like you are doing. And I take long walks when I don’t feel like writing and I pay attention to the people moving up and down, all around me. I usually come home feeling lucky.

    I am certain I will get a job someday, as I am certain you will. Until then, enjoy the moment of breathing hope and uncertainty. You will be cool :).

    Best,
    Jane

  5. Carol Ann Hoel · February 15, 2011

    A job will be there eventually, but without the degree and the knowledge it signifies, someone else will have have the job. Finish what you started, and you will be the one. Keep your chin up. Blessings to you…

  6. slpmartin · February 15, 2011

    Hopefully it is what you learn that keeps you there…the ability to have tools others do not.

Leave a Reply

