First post in January.

It’s been a while since my last post…apologies for my regular visitors. I have not forgotten. However, I must admit that the inspiration for poetry is completely lacking, and seems to remain so for several days, even though I have struggled, threatened and coaxed my poetic self…nothing seems to work. I guess you can’t push these things.

I do have a fervent flow of fiction in my veins, as of now, for some reason. This I haven’t got for a long time; it never caught up to my university shift. All the homework and papers and final exams mercilessly kicked, beaten up and stifled my fiction self. I close my eyes, reach in to caress my wounded creativity, telling it that everything is going to be okay.

I sent out my flash fiction for Oddcon yesterday. It’s a fantasy/sci fi writing competition. Now having turned one year too old to be considered “young”, I have no choice but to compete in the adult category, along with–I’m sure–many writers that are better, older, and more mature than I am. But I love writing, so it doesn’t matter.  Okay, it does matter a little bit. Hey, I paid that $10 entry fee, with the hope that I might be able to squeeze into the top three…or at least, honourable mentions. For now, though, I am going to forget about it until March 1, which is the day the winners are announced.

Don’t hope for anything, then you won’t feel you’ve lost. I must protect my fragile ego.

Haha, maybe not that fragile. But you get what I mean.

I think I might have a poem welling up inside me. Might be a prose, though. This time, I want to write about God.

I don’t usually write about God, because these things can be easily and potentially offensive. But, I figured, we each have a way of loving and understanding God, and you certainly can’t be wrong in your loving.

I feel like I’m advertising. COMING SOON: A POEM OR PROSE ABOUT GOD, SPIRITUALITY AND RELIGION.

Also, a potential film review(s).

Anyways. I promise to update soon (poetry-wise). I’m thinking of opening another blog just for prose/diary/rantings. But then everything is here, Somewhere Nowhere in My Kingdom.  So for now, I think I’ll be loyal to my kingdom. (Having said that, I do have two other blogs…but they’re Chinese, so I guess I’m not entirely betraying my kingdom, eh?)

Anyways. What am I talking about? I’m growing more random by the minute. STOP BABBLING, KIM.

One comment

  1. Carol Ann Hoel · January 15, 2011

    Wish you the best on your fiction competition. Writing for me is seasonal. I write, but it’s not always flowing. Sometimes nothing comes to my mind for a few days. Then out of nowhere comes a little season of flowing words. Blessings to you, Kim…

Leave a Reply

