Disbelief

(I switched theme! This is actually the very very first one I used when I first started blogging. Thanks again to my regular readers, you guys are awesome + awesome + awesome and always make me feel that my writing, through this intricate web of random connections and technology, has reached someone and gone somewhere…I can’t describe it but it’s one of the few things that make me feel writing is worthwhile. So thanks again!!! ❤ ❤ <3)

 

There was a time when I still believed in dreams

Those days when I paved my path with my pen

But all this time I’d been stabbing myself in the chest

The nib slicing across my atriums

My arteries, my pulsating chambers of

Black bitter secrets

Ink smearing my passionate blood like venom

Only to have my heart broken late,

My eyes weighted down with incapability,

Shadowed with a powerlessness,

And the wind mock me in the cold.

.

There was a time when I still believed in dreams.

It was a time when my childish aspirations

Consumed me with a burning insatiability

When I bathed myself in an unfamiliar pride

Beyond recognition and self-knowledge

.

There was  a time when I believed in dreams

Dreams of silly precognitions

And retarded prophecies

Dreams that made me believe that one day

I could be a magician

“What had gotten into you?” I asked myself.

.

And I answered,

“Me.”

And I prayed for a sign.

2 comments

  1. Carol Ann Hoel · December 16, 2010

    There was a time… A nostalgic sense of looking back. Beautiful words that describe a person still dreaming, still looking forward, after looking back. Have a blessed Christmas season…

  2. slpmartin · December 16, 2010

    Love the repeating lines in the poem which add to the emphasis…the way the poem ends was very effective.

Leave a Reply

