Castle of Dreams

The castle of dreams is built

Built on my heart

Built by the hands of the ticking clock

The ancient vines cascade down

From the highest window

Purified by the stains of rain

The raindrops that kiss my eyelids

That tell me to wake up from this world

.

I remember those red bricks

Hugging each other with their bloody arms

Wet with my tears

I used them to build my castle walls

Only to cast a shadow

A sea of shadows

A sea of pain

It’s too late now.

.

I am lost

Locked out of my castle door

When I close my eyes I can feel the teardrops

Dancing on my eyelash

The wind whispers to me but I can’t

Can’t understand a word it’s saying

Because I can no longer see

What my future is going to be

.

Lost in my life; I am lost

The wings on my back

They shrink and wither and hurt me with their stillness

The wind whispers to me but I can’t

Can’t understand a word it’s saying

Because I can no longer see

What my future is going to be

What my future is going to be.

5 comments

  1. frostwire download · November 29, 2010

    one can argue that it can go both ways

  2. Carol Ann Hoel · November 23, 2010

    I’m praying for you dad…

  3. Carol Ann Hoel · November 23, 2010

    My hubby was in the hospital for five days. I stayed with him in his hospital room. He has Alzheimer’s. Hospital visits are hard on Alzheimer’s patients. He went by ambulance in pain. He is home now and recovering from an episode of diverticulitis. I am very behind on my blog commenting. Blessings to you…

  4. Kim · November 23, 2010

    Thanks.<3 I missed your comments a lot. 🙂

  5. Carol Ann Hoel · November 23, 2010

    Lovely poem. Sometimes when we don’t see our direction clearly, we feel that we are lost. Then later on we realize that our steps were ordered by God to bring us into the light. Blessings to you…

Leave a Reply

