Dearest

My dearest King,

These are the days when your face

Is paler than the moonlight

And you are numb, because you’re tired.

A defeated royalty; you warrior heart fails

To lift your warrior arms.

.

These are the days when the people you swear to protect

Protect you instead, as they have always have done

Always behind your back

But now they will be your shield

And fight your war with you

.

Please hold on

Because I swear to protect you

I swear, I promise

I will fight this war with you

Those weight on your shoulders

Let me carry it, too…though

I cannot understand your pain

I can understand your fear, for I, too…

Am afraid.

.

So hang it there, my dearest King

Because I will protect you

And this war will be over,

Soon.

4 comments

  1. Kim · November 15, 2010

    @ Carol: My dad’s in chemo right now, and fortunately it’s something curable. Thanks a lot for the comments. They bring comfort to my heart.

    @ Jebbo: yep Mandy Glendhill. And didn’t I give you that song already? Twice, too????? = =lll

  2. Jebbo · November 14, 2010

    WOAH, MINDY GLEDHILL!

    thank me 🙂
    btw, i still want that anchor song.

  3. Carol Ann Hoel · November 14, 2010

    Kim, I just noticed the tags. Now my heart is breaking for you. Is your dad sick? My husband has Alzheimer’s.

    It’s very much on our hearts to love, shield, and comfort the ones that are so precious in our hearts. the ones that have given themselves for us.

  4. Carol Ann Hoel · November 14, 2010

    What an interesting and intriguing poem! Such devotion to an obviously ailing, failing king. Blessings…

Leave a Reply

