Always

(UBCLE I LOVE BLOG 7 請到 http://nastk.wordpress.com/ 但是也歡迎你在我的英文BLOG逛逛~)

.

Your left hand hangs lifelessly

Beside the hospital bed, next to

The ghostly sheets

.

The clock is one minute until twelve.

.

Your death lingers

Between the leaves of the apple tree

Outside of the window

Looks so natural that

I can’t help but shiver.

.

The dreams from last night

Still rests on your brow like a feather

Lucifer’s kiss.

.

I still remember that night

Underneath the stars

I ran into your arms

And listened to your quiet heartbeats

Along with your short, ragged breaths

Fade with the upmost grace

.

You tell me not to be afraid

Your tired smile melts and disintegrates

On your tearless face

When your warmth disappears

Gradually from both of my hands

I stand by you, and I am numb

.

The clock strikes twelve

On the other side of the world.

I swallow back my tears

Don’t want you to hear me

And I whisper next to your ears

That promise I’ve failed to kept

When you were alive.

.

Always.

(Translated from my Chinese poem “Always” from http://nastk.wordpress.com/)

2 comments

  1. Carol Ann Hoel · November 3, 2010

    Artfully written, Kim. Blessings to you…

  2. slpmartin · November 3, 2010

    This poem by Kim is absolutely beautiful in its imagery and tone…thanks for the translation.

Leave a Reply

