Waiting.

My world is painted black

With the night’s blood

The stars open their horrendous mouths

Their teeth like malicious tusks

Pierce through the steady rhythm of my heart

And my breaths

My tears are scared stiff.

My heart skips a beat

Freezes

Contorts

And shrieks

.

I bite my lip and feel the skin coming off

I fight back the pain

Struggling to break free

With subdued sobs

From your lingering ghost

Shapelessly killing me

Cursing me to sleep

.

Tonight the moon shines red

The walls shall bleed

And I will be buried alive

By the sound of the ticking clock.

4 comments

  1. Kim · October 13, 2010

    @slpmartin
    Glad my poem stirred up some thoughts. Thanks so much for visiting! 🙂

  2. Kim · October 13, 2010

    @Carol Ann Hoel
    Haha yeah…I’m in a dark mood these days. Thanks for visiting. 🙂

  3. slpmartin · October 13, 2010

    For some reason as I read this one…I thought of those long hours in the night ponder what went wrong with a relationship…while the alarm clock just counted aways the minlutes till dawn…enjoyed thinking about your words.

  4. Carol Ann Hoel · October 13, 2010

    Very dark and scary words… Edgar Allen Poe influence perhaps… Or Dean Koontz … Or just such a tired worn out student running from another exam or a wild professor!Great black mood painted with your blood red ink of poetry!

Leave a Reply

