Fairy Wood

It is Wednesday night and I

Stumble into a fairy wood

Twinkling little wings

Brush past my cheeks

When they fly past my left ear I can

Hear them giggle

.

It makes my heart itch.

.

As I walk deeper into their tiny kingdom

I see two trees, two stubborn maples

Playing chess, their branches pushing

The tiny pieces across the board

Leaves rustling

Shouting

.

Shaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Watch out for this move!

.

Reluctantly I turn

A fairy tucks at my hair and tells me to walk

Walk—! This is not where your destiny is!

So I follow blindly

And my heart beats faster

As I venture deeper

.

Into this magical heartland that surrounds me.

.

But it is not perfect. It never is.

.

Gushes of rotten black cover parts of the ground

Like open wounds

I feel myself trembling when I cross over

If I touch it, it might creep up from my feet again

Like a monstrous slime with a mind of its own

.

No! This is not where your destiny is!

Those fairies scream at me,

I am falling back, from the accumulating gravity on my flesh

.

I think I will cry.

.

Dearie! Dearie! This is not where your destiny is!

I should have buried it long ago.

.

Dear! Dearie! This is not where your destiny is!

.

Just

Leave

Me

Alone.

.

Come and meet your destiny!

Leave me.

So at last

I wander to the End

Of this kingdom

Perhaps it really is

Where my destiny is

.

But probably not

There is no time in this fairy wood

Here, there is not the sound of ticking

No hours passing

.
Just me and my fairies

And my wounds.

.

Come and meet your destiny! Dearie! Dearie!

Dearie. Dearie.

.

My destiny?

5 comments

  1. Carol Ann Hoel · September 30, 2010

    It is a lovely poem. I am tired, too. Sociology. That’s a hard one. My daughter is taking it and she says it murder. Anyway, I played it safe on the next one. The Piercer. I read it all. I wanted to get up an army and go after that guy. You are very talented and I like the poetry. It just may be a little over my head, like Sociology.

  2. Kim · September 30, 2010

    @Carol Ann Hoel
    It’s okay. I wasn’t sure what you meant in your post…but felt that I needed to clarify myself if you were indeed implying that I was drunk and “high”. Personally I just don’t like being associated with alcohol or party or things like that, that’s all. It’s probably the “Wednesday night” that inspired that scenario, and it was probably also my fault as a writer to write too ambiguously…I didn’t take much time to edit. Don’t worry about it! Really, it’s not that serious.

  3. Carol Ann Hoel · September 30, 2010

    I apologize. I didn’t mean to offend you. I liked the poem very much but I may have missed the point. I am very sorry.

  4. Kim · September 30, 2010

    @Carol Ann Hoel
    Interesting interpretation…honestly that’s the last thing I’d expect, lol. Just to clarify…I uh, wasn’t really “having fun” in this poem…and I wasn’t drunk or anything. I never touch alcohol. I mean, Feel free to define my poem in any way…but I just don’t want you to think that I am a party animal and I have too much fun and I get drunk or something like that. On Wednesday night, I was studying for sociology. Nod.

  5. Carol Ann Hoel · September 30, 2010

    Silly silly! You have TOO MUCH FUN!!! It’s not allowed! I love your fairies in fairyland. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

