In This World Like No Other

As I swear to protect you

I try to bear your pain

But your sorrows refuse to lift

And down, down, down

I’ve sunk with you

.

As I swear to hold you forever

I try to lock my fingers around your shoulders

But your body keeps shrinking

Smaller and smaller until

I am hugging myself, wondering where you’ve gone

.

As I swear to find you again

I try to understand the emptiness you’ve left behind

But somehow I can’t fill it like I’ve promised to

So one by one and one after another

The teardrops fall

.

I should have made you swear to me

To never leave me

To never leave me behind

In this paradox

In a world like this, like no other

Wishing for those squalid hopes to come clean

Wishing for your presence in your absence

Wishing for your love in my hate

.

But in a world like this, like no other

There is a blade in every love

A mellowness in every hate

A lie between each and every word

A lingering breath next to each grave

.

There is no order

There is no balance

Between solace and chaos

Only between desire and self-loathing

These two almost equate each other

Nearly perfectly and ultimately

.

And so, my dear,

Even though you’re no longer here

Give me purpose as I dream on

Grant me courage when I fail

To forget

.

Remind me to breathe

When I, at last,

Begin to know

Who you really are

Who I really am.

4 comments

  1. photo book · September 18, 2010

    Hey admin, very informative blog post! Pleasee continue this awesome work..

  2. Kim · August 24, 2010

    @ Carol Ann Hoel: Thanks! Originally I was aiming to write a poem about life’s paradoxes, but somehow ended up with this.

    @ Dave: Thanks a lot for dropping by! Glad you liked it. 🙂

  3. Dave · August 23, 2010

    Im not really into poetry, but i read yours and it grabbed my attention. I
    I dont even read books often. But i read your poem and I read it to the end. i was like wow! i dont know much about poetry but you are awesome at. Keep sharing your great.

  4. Carol Ann Hoel · August 22, 2010

    This is very touching poetry expressing determination of one to accomplish an impossible and perhaps pointless act of sacrifice for another. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

