The Shore

I find you in a diminished chord

Nested within a ballad

A ballad of pretty heartaches.

A composition of waves, and waves

Those endless waves

Those endless tears, and tears

The salt in our love

The taste of our kiss

.

I watch your eyes deepen

With each reflections.  Each speckle

Of my silver scales

Speak of limitations

Of the ways I can love you

.

When we dance, your smile

Tickle the side of my face

As long as your eyes are closed

.

When we swim, your touch

Float across, on top of my tail-bone

As long as you hold your breath

.

When we make a wish, that wish

Becomes poetry, of a different reality

As long as our love is true

.

When we part

Your footsteps lost in the whispers of sands

Your auburn hair lost in the starless night

.

It is then, when we part

That I begin to hate

Who I am

Who I am not

.

By K.T.

2 comments

  1. Kim · June 13, 2010

    Thank you 🙂

  2. slpmartin · June 13, 2010

    The poem captures the dependency of love…well said.

Leave a Reply

