Soon

For my creative writing’s final exam (take-home portion): which is to write a song…with restrictions. As much as I’d complained beforehand, things got easier when I became inspired. I got it done in a few hours or so…didn’t really look at the time. I never do when I’m writing…sigh…like right now because I should really go to sleep because I have to work tomorrow…oh and my birthday is officially over! It’s 12:14 April 18th. Well. I ended up not studying for finals…I am now behind my schedule. But anyways. It’s my birthday…right? One deserves a little break.

Ok I should just stop babbling. Here’s my song, which is about the end of the world…since my thoughts are surrounded with darkness these days.

Soon

By Kimberly Tsan

.

The angel’s feathers turning into dust

The hellfire burning in our eyes

The darkest light comes from the brightest sun

We are surrounded by the truest lies

.

It’s becoming thinner, this air

The Gods will leave no heir

The stars glow with our fears

The last shield will soon shatter

If nothing we do matters, then

We’ll blink twice, and hope for a second universe

.

Those wings no longer shield us

We refuse to hear them, though they still hear us

We’ve grown too pompous, have lost all focus

We rely on our strengths, but that becomes our weakness

.

It’s becoming thinner, this air

The Gods will leave no heir

The stars glow with our fears

The last shield will soon shatter

If nothing we do matters, then

We’ll blink twice, and hope for a second universe

.

Save

Save yourselves

Save

Save yourselves

.

It’s becoming thinner, this air

The Gods will leave no heir

The stars glow with our fears

The last shield will soon shatter

If nothing we do matters, then

We’ll blink twice, and hope for a second universe

Leave a Reply

