I invite you to a world of iridescent skins and hollow bones

This is what I did for my creative writing class. A Villanelle assignment.

Title: I invite you to a world of iridescent skins and hollow bones

.

I invite you to a world of iridescent skins and hollow bones,

The centre of my heart is ripened like a muddy grape;

The mirrors around me reflect colourful faces, but never my own.

.

My flesh is soft, my smile gentle, but my blood is stone,

Expectant eyes from different sides mold me into a strange shape;

I invite you to a world of iridescent skins and hollow bones.

.

The foreign afternoon rays frames my name into a shiny throne,

My inky hair drifts down my back, swirling into a dark cape;

The mirrors around me reflect colourful faces, but never my own.

.

This forcefully bestowed royalty through days has grown,

The two halves of my soul grow in the sounds of shrilling scrape;

I invite you to a world of iridescent skins and hollow bones.

.

Too bright to fit into the shadows, my figure stands alone,

My feathery core fails to reach the minimum weight, the mouths gape

The mirrors around me reflect colourful faces, but never my own.

.

There, there, the chances have already flown,

Rooted in the eastern earth, but this western air I cannot escape;

I invite you to a world of iridescent skins and hollow bones.

The mirrors around me reflect colourful faces, but never my own.

Leave a Reply

