The Future is Unknown

Blue liquid gel ink smears onto page

Like drips of sapphire blood

I waver as I shudder

And stare into the sudden formlessness of my signature

My name dissolves into lips

And fails to resurface

 .

Because dreams are childish

Out of reach as the blinking stars shine and fade

Shine and fade, until I am insecure

Am I being mocked?

 .

My heart is heavy with the things that I owe

Light with the things that I own

Expectations make me breathless

Perhaps I am smothering myself

 .

When darkness blinds me, maybe

I will finally understand

My visions will gradually disappear

They die with accurate erosion

And impracticality

 .

By then

I will have no more sapphire blood

No more childish dreams

And stars won’t ever blink again

My heart refuses to be silenced

By unfulfilled wishes

 .

The future—

Is unknown.

Leave a Reply

